

## **County of Santa Barbara BOARD OF SUPERVISORS**

### **Minute Order**

June 4, 2024

Present: 5 - Supervisor Williams, Supervisor Capps, Supervisor Hartmann, Supervisor Nelson,

and Supervisor Lavagnino

#### **COUNTY EXECUTIVE OFFICE**

File Reference No. 24-00492

RE:

HEARING - Consider recommendations regarding a Proposed Increase of Transient Occupancy Tax (TOT) Ballot Measure for November 2024 General Election Ballot, as follows: (EST. TIME: 30 MIN.)

- a) Receive and consider a report from staff regarding placing a measure on the November 5, 2024 General Election ballot for a possible TOT increase from Twelve Percent (12%) to Fourteen Percent (14%) in the unincorporated areas of the County;
- b) Direct staff to return on June 18, 2024 with an Ordinance of the Board of Supervisors of the County of Santa Barbara amending Section 32-12 of the Santa Barbara County Code "Tax-imposed on transients; rate; when payable" and ballot measure for an increase of the TOT before the voters on the November 2024 General Election ballot;
- c) Provide other direction to staff as appropriate; and
- d) Determine that the above actions are not a project under the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) pursuant to Section 15378(b)(4) of the CEQA Guidelines because they consist of the creation of government funding mechanisms which do not involve any commitment to any specific project which may result in a potentially significant physical impact on the environment.

COUNTY EXECUTIVE OFFICER'S RECOMMENDATION: POLICY

HEARING TIME: 12:08 PM - 12:55 PM (47 MIN.)



# **County of Santa Barbara BOARD OF SUPERVISORS**

### **Minute Order**

June 4, 2024

Received and filed staff presentation and conducted a public hearing.

Linda Honikman, Frank Rodriguez, Nancy Avoce, Laura Robinson, Kathy Janega Dykes, Leonardo Decasaus, Tom Patton, and Kristen Miller addressed the Board.

A motion was made by Supervisor Hartmann, seconded by Supervisor Williams, that this matter be acted on as follows:

- a) Received and filed;
- b) Directed staff to return on June 18, 2024 with an Ordinance;
- c) Provided; and
- d) Approved.

The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 4 - Supervisor Williams, Supervisor Capps, Supervisor Hartmann, and

Supervisor Lavagnino

Noes: 1 - Supervisor Nelson