

# **County of Santa Barbara BOARD OF SUPERVISORS**

#### **Minute Order**

## February 25, 2025

Present: 5 - Supervisor Lee, Supervisor Capps, Supervisor Hartmann, Supervisor Nelson, and

Supervisor Lavagnino

#### PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT

File Reference No. 25-00144

RE:

HEARING - Consider recommendations regarding the appeals of the Planning Commission Approval of the Sable Offshore Corporation's Change of Owner, Operator, and Guarantor for the Santa Ynez Unit, Pacific Offshore Pipeline Company Gas Plant, and Las Flores Pipeline System Final Development Plan Permits, Third, Fourth, and First Districts, as follows: (EST. TIME: 2 HR.)

- a) Deny the appeals, Case Nos. 24APL-00025 and 24APL-00026;
- b) Make the required finding for approval of the Sable Offshore Corporation's Change of Owner, Operator, and Guarantor for the respective Santa Ynez Unit, Pacific Offshore Pipeline Company Gas Plant, and Las Flores Pipeline System Final Development Plan Permits, including California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) findings;
- c) Determine the requests are not a "project" that is subject to environmental review under CEQA Guidelines Section 15378(b)(5), finding that the actions consist of administrative activities of government that will not result in direct or indirect changes to the environment; and
- d) Grant de novo approval of the Change of Owner, Operator, and Guarantor for the respective Santa Ynez Unit, Pacific Offshore Pipeline Company Gas Plant, and Las Flores Pipeline System Final Development Plan Permits as detailed in the Board Letter and subject to the Conditions of Approval.

COUNTY EXECUTIVE OFFICER'S RECOMMENDATION: POLICY

HEARING TIME: 9:43 AM - 12:52 PM AND 1:41 PM - 4:10 PM (5 HR. 38 MIN.)



## County of Santa Barbara BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

#### Minute Order

February 25, 2025

Received and filed staff presentation and conducted a public hearing.

Mike Stoker, Paasha Mahdavi, Emily Engel, Jeff Maassen, Anna Marie Gott, Marell Brooks, Chris Lange, Robert Almy, Ken Hough, Kathryn Henry, Michael Lyons, Dr. Linda Phillips, Kelsey Perry, Kaytee Dobbs, Benjamin Bhutani Goedert, Lily Poehler, Nate Irwin, James Kyriaco, Thomas Becker, Terry Fernandez, Ethan Maday, Karin Hauenstein, Lauren Keane, Vivienne Chankai, Deane Plaister, Kaili Mikami, Rebecca Williams, Izzi Sistek, Mia DiCostanzo, Milena Seymour, Nikki Talebi, Jonathan Ullman, Reese Raygoza, Mike Caldwell Nathaniel Williams, Steve Balkcom, Ella Boehme, Ted Roche, Olivia Schroeder, Steve Coldiron, Seth Dolak, Abigail Youngblood, Pascual Morales, Josh Medrano, Juan Montelongo, Brian Trautwein, Benjamin Bray, Evelyn Lynn, Jared Umphress, Charlotte Breier, Dove Joans, Johnny McConville, Ted Morton, Danny Zaragoza, Christopher Alexander, Holly Sherwin, Sean Kennedy, Karen Kennedy, Callian Sheey, Matthew Camper, Laurie Bailey, Lorraine Woodman, Craig Woodman, Solange Aguilar, Tevin Schmitt, Angie Gulizia, Sneha, Jason Wall, Elizabeth Martinez, Nancy Avoce, Katie Davis, Alhan Diaz, Elena Danielson, Jessi Rumkin, Andrew Robbins, Kian Ghodassi, Gillian Heald, John Hoohleutner, David Quezada, Zarick MacDonald, Melia Martinez, Efigenia Barnales, Mariza Sullivan, Emilie Difede, Janet Garcia, Jenna McGovern, Everett Mathiason, Stephanie Katers, Hailey Rowen, Jenna McGovern, Mya Aldrich, Alex Borgas, Ruth Hellier, Hillary Hauser, Juan Salas, Bill Hickman, Candice Meneghin and Seth Steiner addressed the Board.

A motion was made by Supervisor Lavagnino, seconded by Supervisor Nelson, that this matter be acted on as follows:

To accept the following documents into the record: Public Comment letter from Evie Lynn, Public Comment letter from Janice Rudestam, Public Comment letter from Karen Dorfman, Public Comment letter from Rachel Rhodes, Presentation Replacement No. 1 Applicant/Sable, Public Comment Letter from Lauren French, Public Comment Support Letters from FionaHutton&Associates on behalf of Sable/Applicant, Public Comment letter from Heal the Ocean, Public Comment letter from Linda Stewart-Oaten, Public Comment letter from Laura Haston, Public Comment letter from Kaytee Dobbs and a Public Comment letter from David Hourin.

The motion failed by the following vote:

Ayes: 2 - Supervisor Nelson, and Supervisor Lavagnino

Noes: 2 - Supervisor Lee, and Supervisor Capps

Recused: 1 - Supervisor Hartmann



## **County of Santa Barbara BOARD OF SUPERVISORS**

## **Minute Order**

### February 25, 2025

A motion was made by Supervisor Lavagnino, seconded by Supervisor Nelson, that this matter be acted on as follows:

- a) Denied the appeals, Case Nos. 24APL-00025 and 24APL-00026;
- b) Made the required findings for approval of the Sable Offshore Corporation's Change of Owner, Operator, and Guarantor, including California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) findings;
- c) Approved; and
- d) Granted de novo approval of the Change of Owner, Operator, and Guarantor.

The motion failed by the following vote:

Ayes: 2 - Supervisor Nelson, and Supervisor Lavagnino

Noes: 2 - Supervisor Lee, and Supervisor Capps

Recused: 1 - Supervisor Hartmann

A conceptual motion was made by Supervisor Capps, seconded by Supervisor Lee, to approve the appeals, Case Nos. 24APL-00025 and 24APL-00026.

The motion failed by the following vote:

Ayes: 2 - Supervisor Lee, and Supervisor Capps

Noes: 2 - Supervisor Nelson, and Supervisor Lavagnino

Recused: 1 - Supervisor Hartmann