# SANTA BARBARA COUNTY BOARD AGENDA LETTER



Clerk of the Board of Supervisors 105 E. Anapamu Street, Suite 407 Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (805) 568-2240 **Agenda Number:** 

**Prepared on:** 9/16/02

Department Name: Clerk-Recorder-Assessor

**Department No.:** 062 **Agenda Date:** 10/1/02 **Placement:** Administrative

**Estimate Time:** 

Continued Item: NO If Yes, date from:

**TO:** Board of Supervisors

**FROM:** Kenneth A. Pettit, County Clerk-Recorder-Assessor

**STAFF** Suzanne Duncan Post, ext. 2207

**CONTACT:** Elections Assistant

**SUBJECT:** Appointment of Members of Special District Board of Directors in Lieu of Election.

#### **Recommendation(s):**

That the Board of Supervisors:

Appoint members of special district board of directors in lieu of election pursuant to Section 10515 of the California Elections Code.

### Alignment with Board Strategic Plan:

The recommendation is primarily aligned with actions required by law or routine business necessity.

### **Executive Summary and Discussion:**

On August 14, 2002, the number of candidates for the following special district board of directors did not exceed the number of offices to be filled and petitions requesting that an election be held in the district was not presented to this office.

It is requested that the Board of Supervisors of the County of Santa Barbara, pursuant to Section 10515 of the California Elections Code, appoint in lieu of election the persons who have filed declarations of candidacy for the given offices. The following candidates for this office, if appointed, will take office on December 6, 2002.

### Cuyama Valley Recreation District - Four Year Term

Ronald T. Thrower

### Goleta Water District - Four Year Term

J.F. "Jack" Cunningham Carey Rogers

### Isla Vista Recreation and Park District - Four Year Term

Bryan D. Brown Diane N. Conn

## Lompoc Healthcare District - Four Year Term

Roger J. McConnell Leslie Kelly Frank M. Signorelli

### Los Alamos Community Services District - Four Year Term

Peter Diffenderfer Raymond L. Tosti

## Mission Hills Community Services District - Four Year Term

James MacKenzie Stanley Whitty

#### Montecito Fire Protection District - Four Year Term

John Venable

### Montecito Sanitary District - Four Year Term

Robert B. Begley Deirdre Cannata

### Santa Ynez Community Services District - Four Year Term

David K. Higgins
Lawrence Bishop
Santa Ynez River Water Conservation District, Div. #1 – Four Year Term

Wallace S. Marsh

# Santa Ynez River Water Conservation District, Div. #4 – Four Year Term

Dave Pierce

Santa Ynez River Water Conservation District, Div. #5 – Four Year Term

Joseph A. Foss

Santa Ynez River Water Conservation District, Improvement District No. 1, At Large – Four Year Term

Matthew C. Loudon

Santa Ynez River Water Conservation District, Improvement District No. 1, Div. #3 – Four Year Term

Lee F. Bettencourt

Summerland Sanitary District - Two Year Term

Richard "Tinker" Tingstrom

**Mandates and Service Levels:** 

No change in programs or service level.

**Fiscal and Facilities Impacts:** 

**Special Instructions:** 

Clerk-Recorder-Assessor, Elections Division will issue oaths of office.

**Concurrence:**