

County of Santa Barbara BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Minute Order

May 13, 2025

Present:4 - Supervisor Lee, Supervisor Capps, Supervisor Hartmann, and Supervisor Nelson
Absent 1 - Supervisor Lavagnino

PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT

File Reference No. 25-00387

RE: Set a hearing to consider recommendations regarding adopting Resolutions to establish Solid Waste Tipping Fees, Maximum Franchised Collection Rates, and New Cuyama Parcel Fees for Fiscal Year (FY) 2025-2026, as follows: (Set a Hearing for June 3, 2025. Time Estimate: 30 minutes)

a) Adopt a Resolution, to be effective July 1, 2025, setting the fee schedules for solid waste handling and disposal fees at County solid waste facilities for FY 2025-2026;

b) Adopt a Resolution, to be effective July 1, 2025, setting the Parcel Fee Schedule for the Cuyama Valley for FY 2025-2026;

c) Adopt a Resolution, to be effective July 1, 2025, setting the fee schedules for maximum franchised solid waste collection rates in the unincorporated Zones 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 service areas for FY 2025-2026;

d) Direct Resource Recovery and Waste Management Division staff to pursue restructuring of the fee schedule for maximum solid waste collection rates in Isla Vista within Zone 3 in order to provide additional services and clarify existing services for customers in that region; and

e) Determine that the above-recommended actions are exempt from the provisions of the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) under State CEQA Guideline Section 15273(a) (1), (2), (3) and (4) because they are for the establishment, modification, structuring, restructuring, or approval of rates, tolls, fares, or other charges by public agencies which the public agency finds are for the purpose of meeting operating expenses and that no expansion of services or facilities will result, and direct staff to file and post a Notice of Exemption on that basis.

A motion was made by Supervisor Hartmann, seconded by Supervisor Lee, that this matter be set for a hearing, as follows: June 3, 2025 in Santa Barbara (EST. TIME 30 MINS.). The motion carried by the following vote:

- Ayes: 4 Supervisor Lee, Supervisor Capps, Supervisor Hartmann, and Supervisor Nelson
- Absent: 1 Supervisor Lavagnino