RESOLUTION OF COMMENDATION FOR CHIEF DEPUTY JOSEPH A. SMITH UPON HIS RETIREMENT FROM THE SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT

WHEREAS, Joseph A. Smith will be retiring from County service on Sunday, February 24, 2008, having faithfully served the Sheriff's Department for a period of over thirty-one (31) years, during which he served as a Sheriff's Chief Deputy; and

WHEREAS, Joe Smith started his career as a Deputy Sheriff with the Santa Barbara County Sheriff's Department on November 8, 1976. During his years of service he has worked in various capacities distinguishing himself throughout his many assignments. He proudly provided presidential protection to President Ronald Reagan while assigned as the lieutenant of the Special Enforcement Team (SET). He served as the Chief of Police for the City of Solvang and as the Commander of Jail Operations. Most notably, his service has been exceptional in the Department's Criminal Investigations Division, bringing justice to the families and victims; and

WHEREAS, Joe Smith, provided the employees of the Sheriff's Department positive leadership and professionalism, allowing him to rise through the organization, attaining the rank of Chief Deputy, culminating his career as the Chief of Law Enforcement Operations; and

WHEREAS, Joe Smith provided the citizens of Santa Barbara County professionalism and sensitive law enforcement service while dedicating his life to the pursuit of justice; and

WHEREAS, Joe Smith's knowledge, skills and experience contributed greatly to the overall professionalism and the goals of the Santa Barbara County Sheriff's Department as well as the objectives of the county.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT AND IT IS HEREBY ORDERED AND RESOLVED that this Board of Supervisors commends Joseph A. Smith for his faithful and distinguished service to the citizens of Santa Barbara County and congratulates him upon his retirement and wish him continued good health and many years of happiness.

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Board of Supervisors of Santa Barbara County, State of California, this February 19, 2008, by unanimous vote of all members present.