### SANTA BARBARA COUNTY BOARD AGENDA LETTER



Clerk of the Board of Supervisors 105 E. Anapamu Street, Suite 407 Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (805) 568-2240 Agenda Number:

**Prepared on:** 5/11/06

Department Name: Clerk, Recorder and Assessor

**Department No.:** 062 **Agenda Date:** 5/23/06 **Placement:** Administrative

Estimate Time: 5 Minutes
Continued Item: NO

If Yes, date from:

**TO:** Board of Supervisors

**FROM:** Joseph E. Holland, County Clerk, Recorder and Assessor

**STAFF** Suzanne Jackson, ext. 2207 **CONTACT:** Elections Division Supervisor

**SUBJECT:** Appointment of County Central Committee Candidates

#### **Recommendation(s):**

That the Board of Supervisors:

Appoint in lieu of election, pursuant to Section 7228 of the California Elections Code, of candidates who filed nomination papers for County Central Committee offices for the June 6, 2006 Direct Primary Election.

#### **Alignment with Board Strategic Plan:**

The recommendation is primarily aligned with actions required by law or routine business necessity.

#### **Executive Summary and Discussion:**

On March 10, 2006, the number of candidates for the following County Central Committees did not exceed the number of offices to be filled and a petition indicating that a write-in campaign would be conducted was not presented to this office.

It is requested that the Board of Supervisors of the County of Santa Barbara, pursuant to Section 7228 of the California Elections Code, appoint in lieu of election the persons who filed for the given offices for which there are vacancies.

## <u>Democratic County Central Committee - 2<sup>nd</sup> Supervisorial District (6 seats open)</u>

Esther (E.J.) Borah

517 W. Pueblo St., Santa Barbara, CA 93105

Eric Friedman

1720 ½ Calle Poniente, Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Stephanie Langsdorf

626 Meigs Rd., Santa Barbara, CA 93109

Michael Purvis 1206 Plaza Del Monte, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 Charles Burton Rice 33 San Dimas Ave., Santa Barbara, CA 93111

### <u>Democratic County Central Committee – 3<sup>rd</sup> Supervisorial District (5 seats open)</u>

Hillary Blackerby 6523 Trigo Rd., Apt. 6, Goleta, CA 93117 Arthur N. Hicks 4345 Rigel Ave., Lompoc, CA 93117

Jay Redig Rt. 1, Rancho Las Cruces, Goleta, CA 93117 Brett Wagner Rt. 1, Rancho Las Cruces, Goleta, CA 93117

### <u>Democratic County Central Committee – 4<sup>th</sup> Supervisorial District (4 seats open)</u>

Andrea Bonnett 1350 Country Hill Rd., Santa Maria, CA 93455

### <u>Democratic County Central Committee – 5<sup>th</sup> Supervisorial District (3 seats open)</u>

Rebecca Carey
1238 E. Seaward Dr., Santa Maria, CA 93454
Roger Warren Hart
1065 De Gamma Dr., Santa Maria, CA 93454
Russ Weed
415 S. Dan Ct., Santa Maria, CA 93454

### Republican County Central Committee – 1<sup>st</sup> Supervisorial District (4 seats open)

Carol A. Anderson 5012 Pacific Village Dr., Carpinteria, CA 93013 Gregory Gandrud 1180 Eugenia Pl., #220, Carpinteria, CA 93013 Ronald W. Hurd 1339 Vallecito Rd., Carpinteria, CA 93013

### Republican County Central Committee – 2<sup>nd</sup> Supervisorial District (5 seats open)

Walter Scott Burns 2319 Garden St., Santa Barbara, CA 93105 Linda J. Graham 341 Via El Cuadro, Santa Barbara, CA 93111

### Republican County Central Committee – 3rd Supervisorial District (5 seats open)

Janine D. Blum
1687 Kronen Way, Solvang, CA 93463
Monte Ward
1 Hollister Ranch, Gaviota, Ca 93117
Deborah A. Whitford
1090 Cuesta St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460

# <u>Republican County Central Committee – 4<sup>th</sup> Supervisorial District (5 seats open)</u>

Jonathan R. Mundt Lorna Schock Aileen P. Twitchell 1620 W. Cherry Ave., Lompoc, CA 93436 5985 Oakhill Dr., Santa Maria, CA 93455 2110 Mead Ln., Santa Maria, CA 93455

## Republican County Central Committee – 5<sup>th</sup> Supervisorial District (3 seats open)

Terry Dworaczyk
232 N. Garnet Way, Santa Maria, CA 93454
Michael W. Hayes
2418 Ridgemark Dr., Santa Maria, CA 93455

#### **Mandates and Service Levels:**

No change in programs or service level.

#### **Fiscal and Facilities Impacts:**

#### **Special Instructions:**

Please forward a copy of the Minute Order to the Elections Office, Attn: Suzanne Jackson. Elections Division of the Clerk, Recorder and Assessor will issue oaths of office.

#### **Concurrence:**