

County of Santa Barbara BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Minute Order

August 22, 2023

Present: 5 - Supervisor Williams, Supervisor Capps, Supervisor Hartmann, Supervisor Nelson, and Supervisor Lavagnino

PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT

File Reference No. 23-00785

RE: Consider recommendations regarding the authority to bid and amendment No. 3 to the Agreement for Services of Independent Contractor for Design and Environmental Permitting for the Replacement of the Toro Canyon Oil Water Separator Facility, First District, as follows:

a) Approve, ratify, and authorize the Public Works Director or designee to execute Amendment No. 3 to the Agreement for Services of Independent Contractor with Geosyntec Consultants, (local vendor) for Design and Environmental Permitting for the replacement of the Toro Canyon Oil Water Separator Facility (Project No. WA8231), with the review and concurrence of the County Counsel, Risk Management, and the Auditor-Controller's Offices, increasing the not to exceed amount by \$18,152.00 to a total amount of \$556,629.00 including a previously approved contingency of \$53,847.70 for a total not to exceed amount of \$610,476.70;

b) Authorize the Public Works Director to advertise and receive bids for the Toro Canyon Oil Water Separator Replacement Project; and

c) Find that the Toro Canyon Oil Water Separator Replacement Project is exempt from the provisions of the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA), pursuant to CEQA Guidelines Section 15269 (c) Emergency Projects, which exempts specific actions necessary to prevent or mitigate an emergency. A Notice of Exemption was filed with the Clerk of the Board on July 27th, 2023 and the proposed action to advertise and receive bids for the Toro Canyon Oil Water Separator Replacement Project is within the scope of that Notice of Exemption.

A motion was made by Supervisor Lavagnino, seconded by Supervisor Hartmann, that this matter be acted on as follows:

a) Approved, ratified and authorized;

b) Authorized; and

c) Approved.

The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 5 - Supervisor Williams, Supervisor Capps, Supervisor Hartmann, Supervisor Nelson, and Supervisor Lavagnino