## **LAFCO**

Santa Barbara Local Agency Formation Commission
105 East Anapamu Street ◆ Santa Barbara CA 93101
805-568-3391 ◆ FAX 805-568-2249
www.sblafco.org ◆ lafco@sblafco.org

March 15, 2018

Board of Supervisors County of Santa Barbara 105 East Anapamu Street Santa Barbara CA 93101

## **Appointments to the Local Agency Formation Commission**

Dear Members of the Board:

## **REQUEST**

The Board of Supervisors should appoint one Regular and on Alternate member to the Local Agency Formation Commission for a term of office from March 1, 2018 through March 1, 2022.

## DISCUSSION

The Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) is composed of two County Supervisors, two members of city councils, two directors of independent special districts and a member of the general public. There is an alternate member in each category to vote in place of absent or disqualified members in that category.

County members are appointed to four-year terms and serve at the pleasure of the Board of Supervisors. The term of office of County Member Steve Lavagnino and Alternate County Member Joan Hartmann will expire on March 1, 2018. The Board should appoint or reappoint two of its members for new four-year terms to expire on March 1, 2022. The term of office of the other regular County members Janet Wolf will expire on March 1, 2019.

If further information is needed, please contact the LAFCO office.

Sincerely,

PAUL HOOD Executive Officer

Dans Hood