

The voice of our community

May 5, 2016

2016 Officers:

Dr. Aaron Budgor President

Cliff Ghersen 1st Vice President

Charlene Nagel 2nd Vice President

Trish Davis Secretary Tom Schleck Treasurer

Directors:

Frank Abatemarco Monica Babich Brenda Blalock Frank W. Blue

Dr. Aaron Budgor Trish Davis

Peter Dealy Jane Eagleton Dan Eidelson

Cliff Ghersen Cori Hayman Kathi King

Harry Kolb Barbara Mathews Charlene Nagel Michele Saltoun

Tom Schleck

Honorary Directors:

Ralph Baxter Sally Kinsell Robert V. Meghreblian Diane Pannkuk Richard Thielscher Joan Wells

Executive Director:

Victoria Greene

Office Coordinator:

Susan Robles

Office:

1469 E. Valley Road Santa Barbara, CA 93108

P.O. Box 5278 Santa Barbara, CA 93150 Tel: (805) 969-2026 Fax (805) 969-4043

info@montecitoassociation.org www.montecitoassociation.org 105 E. Anapamu Street Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Santa Barbara County Board of Supervisors

Re: Revisions to the Montecito Architectural Guidelines and

> Development Standards and the Montecito Land Use Development Code to Improve Hillside Development Outcomes, Board Agenda of

May 17, 2016

Dear Supervisors:

The Montecito Association is pleased to support the proposed amendments to the Montecito Guidelines and Development Standards and the Montecito Development Code as recommended by the Montecito Planning Commission. These amendments will go a long ways toward ensuring that hillside development in Montecito proceeds in the manner intended by the Montecito Community Plan.

The project is one that we have advocated for since 2009 after seeing evidence that new development in the Montecito hillside areas was not always in compliance with the Comprehensive Plan and Montecito Community Plan intent that "Development shall be subordinate to the natural open space characteristics of the mountains." We hope these changes will be effective in this regard and appreciate the County's efforts to bring this project forward.

Thank you in advance for supporting this project.

Sincerely,

Aaron Budgor, President

ann B. Budger