

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS AGENDA LETTER

Agenda Number:

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors

105 E. Anapamu Street, Suite 407 Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (805) 568-2240

Department Name: Probation

Department No.: 22

For Agenda Of: June 18, 2019
Placement: Administrative

Estimated Time:

Continued Item: N_O

If Yes, date from:

Vote Required: Majority

TO: Board of Supervisors

FROM: Department Tanja Heitman, Chief Probation Officer

Director(s) (805) 739-8537

Contact Info: Holly Benton, Deputy Chief Probation Officer

(805) 739-8588

SUBJECT: Juvenile Justice Coordinating Council (JJCC) Membership Update

County Counsel Concurrence

Auditor-Controller Concurrence

As to form: Yes As to form: N/A

Other Concurrence: N/A

Recommended Actions:

That the Board of supervisors:

- A. Adopt the attached Resolution (Attachment A) identifying the Juvenile Justice Coordinating Council (JJCC) membership by position.
- B. Determine that the acceptance of the Resolution regarding the JJCC Membership is exempt from the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) pursuant to CEQA Guidelines Section 15061(b)(3), finding that the activities are covered by the general rule that CEQA applies only to projects which have the potential for causing significant effect on the environment, and where it can be seen with certainty that there is no possibility that the activities in question may have a significant effect on the environment, the activities are not subject to CEQA.

Summary Text:

At the request of the Santa Barbara Superior Court, the JJCC voted on December 7, 2018, to modify the By-laws to reflect the Court's representative to the JJCC as the Court Executive Officer (JJCC By-Laws, Attachment B).

Background:

The Board of Supervisors adopted a resolution on November 19, 1996, outlining the Juvenile Justice Coordinating Council (JJCC) membership. The JJCC assists the Chief Probation Officer in developing a Comprehensive Multi-agency Juvenile Justice Plans (CMJJP) including a continuum of responses for the crime prevention and intervention services and for the supervision, treatment, and incarceration of juvenile offenders, in accordance with Welfare and Institutions Code Section 749.22 and Government Code Section 30061.

The Chief Probation Officer is the Chair of the JJCC; there are 12 permanent voting members and at least one identified delegate from the District Attorney's Office, Sheriff-Coroner's Office, Public Defender's Office, Board of Supervisors (2 members as designated by the Board), Department of Social Services, Presiding Judge of the Juvenile Court, Juvenile Justice Delinquency Prevention Commission (JJDPC) Chair, County Education Office, Department of Behavioral Wellness, and County Executive Office. In addition to the permanent voting members, voting members are selected from two separate community-based drug and alcohol programs, a maximum of three from the city police departments, a maximum of three from local school districts, and a maximum of two from non-profit community-based agencies serving juveniles who are selected for two-year terms. On December 7, 2018, at the request of the Superior Court, the JJCC voted to remove the Presiding Judge of the Juvenile Court as a permanent member of the JJCC, and replace the Judge with the Court Executive Officer or their designee.

The current permanent members are:

- Peter Adam, Board of Supervisor 4th District (designee Bob Nelson)
- Bill Brown, Sheriff-Coroner (designee Sol Linver)
- Joyce Dudley, District Attorney (designee Mag Nicola)
- Darrel Parker, Court Executive Officer
- Alice Gleghorn, Director Behavioral Wellness (designee Pam Fisher)
- Tracy Macuga, Public Defender (designee S.E. Ballard)
- Mona Miyasato, County Executive Officer (designee Bernard Melekian)
- Daniel Nielson, Social Services Director (designee Amy Krueger
- Dominick Palera, Chair Juvenile Justice Delinquency Prevention Commission (designee Roland Kelly)
- Susan Salcido, Superintendent County Schools (designee Rene Wheeler)
- Tanja Heitman, Chief Probation Officer (designee Holly Benton)
- Gregg Hart, Board of Supervisors 1st District

The two-year term members are:

- Steven DeLira, Family Service Agency
- Jill Frandsen, Council on Alcohol and Drug Abuse (designee Ed Cue)
- Phil Hansen, Santa Maria Police Department (designee Kendall Greene)
- Todd Stoney, Santa Barbara Police Department (designee Alex Altavilla)
- Matt Hamlin, Coast Valley
- Trevor McDonald, Lompoc Unified School District (designee Paul Bommersbach)
- Mark Richardson, Santa Maria Joint Union High School District (designee Pete Flores)
- Saul Serrano, Community Action Commission
- Jill Sharkey, University of California, Santa Barbara
- Michael Cash, Guadalupe Police Department

Fiscal and Facilities Impacts:

None

Staffing Impacts:

<u>Legal Positions:</u>
0

FTEs:

Special Instructions:

Please provide one original signed copy of the resolution to: Melanie Davis, Probation Department, 117 East Carrillo Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Attachments:

Attachment A: JJCC Resolution Attachment B: JJCC By-laws

Authored by:

Holly Benton, Deputy Chief Probation Officer