# **LAFCO**

## Santa Barbara Local Agency Formation Commission

105 East Anapamu Street ◆ Santa Barbara CA 93101 805-568-3391 ◆ FAX 805-568-2249 www.sblafco.org ◆ lafco@sblafco.org

June 26, 2019

Board of Supervisors County of Santa Barbara 105 East Anapamu Street Santa Barbara CA 93101

# **Appointment to the Local Agency Formation Commission**

Dear Members of the Board:

#### REQUEST

The Board of Supervisors should appoint one Regular Member to the Local Agency Formation Commission for a term of office from March 1, 2019 through March 1, 2023.

## **DISCUSSION**

The Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) is composed of two County Supervisors, two members of city councils, two directors of independent special districts and a member of the public. There is an alternate member in each category to vote in place of absent or disqualified members in that category.

County members are appointed to four-year terms and serve at the pleasure of the Board of Supervisors. The term of office of County Member Steve Lavagnino and the Alternate County Member will expire on March 1, 2022. At the January 8, 2019 meeting, Supervisor Williams was appointed to complete the unexpired term of Alternate County Member Hartmann. At the same meeting, Supervisor Hartmann was appointed to the unexpired term of Regular County Member Janet Wolf, who retired. However, since the term of the Regular County member expired on March 1, 2019, Commissioner Hartmann needs to be reappointed to a new four-year term that expires in March 1, 2023.

Sincerely,

Executive Officer