

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS AGENDA LETTER

Agenda Number:

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors

105 E. Anapamu Street, Suite 407 Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (805) 568-2240

Department Name: Probation

Department No.: 22

For Agenda Of: May 11, 2021
Placement: Administrative

Estimated Time:

Continued Item: N_0

If Yes, date from:

Vote Required: Majority

TO: Board of Supervisors

FROM: Department Tanja Heitman, Chief Probation Officer

Director(s) (805) 803-8537

Contact Info: Holly Benton, Deputy Chief Probation Officer

(805) 803-8588

SUBJECT: Juvenile Justice Coordinating Council (JJCC) and its Subcommittee

Membership

County Counsel Concurrence

Auditor-Controller Concurrence

As to form: N/A

Other Concurrence: N/A

As to form: Yes

Recommended Actions:

That the Board of Supervisors:

- A. Adopt the attached Resolution identifying the membership by position of the Juvenile Justice Coordinating Council (JJCC) and the Juvenile Justice Realignment Subcommittee (JJRS) of the JJCC; and
- B. Determine that the adoption of the Resolution regarding the JJCC and the JJRS Membership is exempt from the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) pursuant to CEQA Guidelines Section 15061(b)(3), finding that the activities are covered by the general rule that CEQA applies only to projects which have the potential for causing significant effect on the environment, and where it can be seen with certainty that there is no possibility that the activities in question may have a significant effect on the environment, the activities are not subject to CEQA.

Summary Text:

The JJCC voted on February 5, 2021 to modify its By-laws to reflect the addition of a community member and form a Juvenile Justice Realignment Subcommittee of the JJCC. (JJCC By-Laws, Attachment B).

Background:

The Board of Supervisors adopted a resolution on November 19, 1996, outlining the Juvenile Justice Coordinating Council (JJCC) membership. The JJCC assists the Chief Probation Officer in developing a Comprehensive Multi-agency Juvenile Justice Plan (CMJJP), including a continuum of responses for crime prevention, intervention services, and for the supervision, treatment, and incarceration of juvenile offenders, in accordance with Welfare and Institutions Code Section 749.22 and Government Code Section 30061.

Senate Bill 823, passed by the California State Legislature on August 31, 2020 and chaptered September 30, 2020, added division 2.5 of the Welfare and Institutions Code establishing the Juvenile Justice Realignment Block Grant program for the purpose of providing county-based custody, care, and supervision of youth who are realigned from the state Division of Juvenile Justice or who were otherwise eligible for commitment to the Division of Juvenile Justice prior to its closure. The Senate Bill also created the Office of Youth and Community Restoration (OYCR) and prohibits the commitment of additional youth to the Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) effective July 1, 2021, as well as realigning responsibility for those youth to the counties. To be eligible for funding from the Realignment Block Grant, a county must create a Juvenile Justice Realignment Subcommittee (JJRS) of the JJCC to develop a separate Plan (JJRP), "...describing the facilities, programs, placements, services, supervision and reentry strategies that are needed to provide appropriate rehabilitation and supervision services for the youth who are realigned from the state Division of Juvenile Justice to county based custody, care, and supervision or who were otherwise eligible for commitment to the Division of Juvenile Justice prior to its closure." The Juvenile Justice Realignment Subcommittee's membership is designated under section 1995(b) of the Welfare and Institutions Code.

The JJCC membership consists of the Chief Probation Officer, who is the Chair; there are 12 permanent voting members and at least one identified delegate from the District Attorney's Office, Sheriff-Coroner's Office, Public Defender's Office, Board of Supervisors (2 members as designated by the Board), Department of Social Services, Court Executive Officer, Juvenile Justice Delinquency Prevention Commission (JJDPC) Chair, County Education Office, Department of Behavioral Wellness, and County Executive Office. In addition to the permanent voting members, voting members are selected from two separate community-based drug and alcohol programs, a maximum of three from the city police departments, a maximum of three from local school districts and a maximum of two from non-profit community-based agencies serving juveniles.

On February 5, 2021, the JJCC modified its By-Laws to add a two-year term community member (with a preference for formerly justice-involved youth) to the JJCC and establish the Juvenile Justice Realignment (JJRS) Subcommittee of the JJCC. Both actions were approved at the April 4, 2021 meeting.

The JJCC current permanent members are:

- Bob Nelson, Board of Supervisors, 4th District
- Bill Brown, Sheriff-Coroner (designee Sol Linver)
- Mag Nicola, District Attorney's Office
- Darrel Parker, Court Executive Officer
- Alice Gleghorn, Director of Department of Behavioral Wellness (designee Shana Burns)
- Tracy Macuga, Public Defender (designee Adrienne Harbottle)
- Mona Miyasato, County Executive Officer

- Daniel Nielson, Director of Department of Social Services (designee Amy Krueger)
- Roland Kelly, Chair, Juvenile Justice Delinquency Prevention Commission
- Susan Salcido, Superintendent County Schools (designee Rene Wheeler)
- Tanja Heitman, Chief Probation Officer (designee Holly Benton)
- Gregg Hart, Board of Supervisors, 1st District

The JJCC two-year term members are:

- Michelle Kerwood, Council on Alcohol and Drug Abuse
- Saul Serrano, CommUnify
- Matt Hamlin, Coast Valley Substance Abuse Treatment Center
- Billi Jo Starr, Freedom 4 Youth
- Victor Vega, Community Member
- Jill Sharkey, University of California, Santa Barbara
- Marc Schneider, Santa Maria Police Department
- Todd Stoney, Santa Barbara Police Department
- Michael Cash, Guadalupe Police Department
- Brian Zimmerman, Santa Maria Bonita School District
- Kathrine Wallace, Lompoc Unified School District

The JJRS members are:

- Mag Nicola, District Attorney's Office
- Darrel Parker, Court Executive Officer
- Alice Gleghorn, Director of Department of Behavioral Wellness
- Tracy Macuga, Public Defender
- Daniel Nielson, Director of Department of Social Services
- Susan Salcido, Superintendent County Schools
- Tanja Heitman, Chief Probation Officer
- Saul Serrano, CommUnify
- Jill Sharkey, University of California, Santa Barbara
- Victor Vega, Community Member

Fiscal and Facilities Impacts: None

Special Instructions:

Please provide one original signed copy of the resolution to:

Melanie Davis, Probation Department, 117 East Carrillo Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Attachments:

Attachment A: JJCC Resolution Attachment B: JJCC By-laws

Authored by:

Holly Benton, Deputy Chief Probation Officer